

Service Director – Legal, Governance and Commissioning

Julie Muscroft

The Democracy Service
First Floor, Civic Centre 3
High Street
Huddersfield
HD1 2TG

Tel: 01484 221000

Decision Summary

Committee:

Date:

Committee Clerk:

TEL:

Chair

Councillor Gwen Lowe

Councillors Attended

Councillor Christine Iredale

Councillor Masood Ahmed

Councillor Mahmood Akhtar

Councillor Karen Allison

Councillor Bill Armer

Councillor Donna Bellamy

Councillor Martyn Bolt

Councillor Cahal Burke

Councillor Andrew Cooper

Councillor Nosheen Dad

Councillor Eric Firth

Councillor Donald Firth

Councillor David Hall

Councillor Steve Hall

Councillor Lisa Holmes

Councillor Erin Hill

Councillor Judith Hughes

Councillor Mumtaz Hussain

Councillor Viv Kendrick

Councillor John Lawson

Councillor Vivien Lees-Hamilton

Councillor Terry Lyons

Councillor Naheed Mather

Councillor Peter McBride

Councillor Darren O'Donovan

Councillor Shabir Pandor

Councillor Nigel Patrick

EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL
WEDNESDAY 27 FEBRUARY 2019
Andrea Woodside
01484 221000

Councillor Carole Pattison

Councillor Amanda Pinnock

Councillor Andrew Pinnock

Councillor Kath Pinnock

Councillor Hilary Richards

Councillor Mohammad Sarwar

Councillor Cathy Scott

Councillor David Sheard

Councillor Ken Sims

Councillor Elizabeth Smaje

Councillor Mohan Sokhal

Councillor Julie Stewart-Turner

Councillor John Taylor

Councillor Kath Taylor

Councillor Graham Turner

Councillor Sheikh Ullah

Councillor Michael Watson

Councillor Fazila Loonat

Councillor Michelle Grainger-Mead

Councillor Manisha Roma Kaushik

Councillor Richard Smith

Councillor Mussarat Pervaiz

Councillor Rob Walker

Councillor Richard Murgatroyd

Councillor James Homewood

Councillor Will Simpson

Councillor Mark Thompson

Councillor Gulfam Asif

Councillor Harpreet Uppal

Councillor Richard Eastwood

Councillor Habiban Zaman

Councillor Nell Griffiths

Councillor Alison Munro

Apologies

Councillor Charles Greaves, Councillor Edgar Holroyd-Doveton, Councillor Paul Kane, Councillor Musarrat Khan and Councillor Bernard McGuin

1 Announcements by the Mayor and Chief Executive

To receive any announcements from the Mayor and Chief Executive.

The Mayor conveyed the thanks of Council to the emergency services who were currently tackling a large fire at Marsden Moor.

2 Apologies for absence

Group Business Managers to submit any apologies for absence.

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillors Greaves, Holroyd-Doveton, Kane, Khan and McGuin.

3 Declaration of Interests

The Councillors will be asked to say if there are any items of the Agenda in which they have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interests, which would prevent them from participating in any discussion of them items or participating in any votes upon the items, or any other interests.

The following Councillors declared an 'other' interest in relation to Agenda Item 4;

- Councillor Scott; on the grounds that she lives adjacent to the Chidswell site
- Councillor Bellamy; on the grounds that she is a Trustee of Holme Valley Land Charity and Holme Valley Parish Council
- Councillor D Firth; on the grounds that he is a Trustee of Holme Valley Land Charity and Holme Valley Parish Council
- Councillor Sokhal; on the grounds that he is a Director of Kirklees Active Leisure
- Councillor E Firth; on the grounds that he is a Member of Kirklees Community Association, Dewsbury Endowed Schools Foundation Trust and Dewsbury East Community Trust
- Councillor Sims, on the grounds that he owns land and business in Holme Valley South, and is a Director of Kirklees Stadium Development Limited

The Monitoring Officer advised that she had granted dispensations to Councillors Smaje, Mather and Pattison in their capacity as Board Members of Kirklees Neighbourhood Housing.

4 Kirklees Local Plan

To consider the adoption of the Local Plan (incorporating the Inspector's recommended Main Modifications (relating to soundness and legal compliance) and the Council's Additional Modifications (relating to minor corrections/clarification) and, subject to this decision, delegate authority to the Strategic Director for Economy & Infrastructure to prepare and publish information required post-adoption of a development plan in accordance with relevant legislation.

Contact: Richard Hollinson, Policy Group Leader, Planning Services

Please note that any members of the public who wish to address Council must have registered by 12 noon on Monday 25th February 2019.

To pre-register, please email andrea.woodside@kirklees.gov.uk or phone 01484 221000 (ext 74993).

- That the Council notes the Report of the Inspectors and their recommended Main Modifications as set out within the appendix to the considered report.
- 2) That the Council adopts the Kirklees Local Plan incorporating the

Main Modifications recommended by the Inspector, as set out in Appendix 1 of the report, and further Modifications as proposed by the Council, as set out in Appendices 2 and 3, and in doing so, replaces the current statutory development plan (Kirklees Unitary Development Plan).

- 3) That, pursuant to (2) above, authority be delegated to the Strategic Director Economy and Infrastructure, to prepare the Policies Map to illustrate geographically the application of policies in the Kirklees Local Plan, incorporating the modifications relating to the Policies Map, as set out within the appendices of the report.
- 4) That, pursuant to (2) above, authority be delegated to the Strategic Director Economy and Infrastructure, to make any further Additional Modifications to the Kirklees Local Plan that relate exclusively to factual updates, grammatical and formatting corrections for the purposes of publishing a plan.
- 5) That, pursuant to (2) above, authority be delegated to the Strategic Director Economy and Infrastructure, to publicise adoption of the Kirklees Local Plan and to prepare and publicise the post-adoption sustainability appraisal/strategic environmental assessment statement in accordance with the regulations governing such matters.

(In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 24(3), a recorded vote was taken on the Motion and was as follows;

For: Councillors Ahmed, Akhtar, Asif, Dad, E Firth, Griffiths, S Hall, Hill, Homewood, Hughes, Hussain, Kaushik, Kendrick, Loonat, Mather, McBride, Murgatroyd, O'Donovan, Pandor, Pattison, Pervaiz, A U Pinnock, Richards, Sarwar, Scott, Sheard, Simpson, Sokhal, Turner, Ullah, Uppal, Walker and Zaman (33 votes)

Against: Councillors Armer, Bellamy, Bolt, Burke, Eastwood, D Firth, Grainger-Mead, D Hall, Holmes, Iredale, Lawson, Lees-Hamilton, Munro, Patrick, A Pinnock, K Pinnock, Sims, Smaje, Smith, J Taylor, K Taylor, Thompson and Watson (23 votes)

Abstained: Councillors Allison, Cooper and Lyons